Article Text

Download PDFPDF

An Emergency Medicine Research Priority Setting Partnership to establish the top 10 research priorities in emergency medicine
  1. Jason Smith1,2,
  2. Liza Keating3,
  3. Lynsey Flowerdew4,
  4. Rachel O'Brien5,
  5. Sam McIntyre6,
  6. Richard Morley7,
  7. Simon Carley8,9
  8. on behalf of the JLA EM PSP Steering Group
  1. 1 Emergency Department, Derriford Hospital, Plymouth, UK
  2. 2 Academic Department of Military Emergency Medicine, Royal Centre for Defence Medicine (Research & Academia), Birmingham, UK
  3. 3 Emergency Department, Intensive Care Unit, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, Reading, UK
  4. 4 Emergency Department, Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust, Frimley, UK
  5. 5 EMERGE (Emergency Medicine Research Group, Edinburgh), Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK
  6. 6 Royal College of Emergency Medicine, London, UK
  7. 7 James Lind Alliance, Southampton, UK
  8. 8 Centre for Evidence Based Emergency Care, Manchester Metropolitan University, Manchester, UK
  9. 9 Emergency Department, Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester, UK
  1. Correspondence to Professor Jason Smith, Emergency Department, Derriford Hospital, Plymouth, PL6 8DH, UK; jasonesmith{at}


Defining research priorities in a specialty as broad as emergency medicine is a significant challenge. In order to fund and complete the most important research projects, it is imperative that we identify topics that are important to all clinicians, society and to our patients. We have undertaken a priority setting partnership to establish the most important questions facing emergency medicine. The top 10 questions reached through a consensus process are discussed.

  • priority setting partnership
  • James Lind Alliance

This is an Open Access article distributed in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial (CC BY-NC 4.0) license, which permits others to distribute, remix, adapt, build upon this work non-commercially, and license their derivative works on different terms, provided the original work is properly cited and the use is non-commercial. See:

View Full Text

Statistics from


  • Contributors JS was the clinical lead for the PSP and drafted the initial version of the manuscript. RM chaired the steering group and edited the manuscript. All other authors were on the steering group and edited subsequent versions of the manuscript.

  • Funding Funding was received from the Royal College of Emergency Medicine to support this PSP.

  • Competing interests None declared.

  • Provenance and peer review Not commissioned; externally peer reviewed.

  • Collaborators The JLA EM PSP Steering Group members include Helen Allen, Justine Amero, Simon Carley, Douglas Findlay, Lynsey Flowerdew, Melanie Gager, Liza Keating, Ben McCullough, Hazel McCullough, Sam McIntyre, Richard Morley, Rachel O’Brien, Miranda Odam, Ian Roberts, Jason Smith and Katharine Wylie.

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Linked Articles